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SUBJECT: Georgia Residential Mortgage Act

I. Introduction and Summary of Conclusions

This responds to your inquiry regarding whether federal
savings associations must comply with the Georgia Residential
Mortgage Act ("Mortgage Act").l

In brief, we conclude that federal savings associations are
obligated to comply with the provisions of the Mortgage Act
requiring all lenders to collect from borrowers and remit to the
State a $6.50 "per loan fee." However, as the courts and the
Office of Thrift Supervision ("OTS") have opined on numerous prior
occasions, federal savings associations are not bound by state laws
that attempt to regqulate their mortgage lending practices.
Accordingly, federal savings associations need not comply with
those portions of the Mortgage Act imposing requirements regarding
licensing, registration, advertising, disclosure, escrow accounts,
financial reports, maintenance of books and records, and fees for
registration and filing. These areas of the operations of federal
savings associations are subject to federal regulation.

II. B ound

The Mortgage Act purports to apply to all persons who transact
business directly or indirectly as mortgage brokers or mortgage
lenders in Georgia. A "mortgage broker" is defined as any person
who directly or indirectly solicits, processes, places, or

Ga. Code Ann. §§ 7-1-1000 et seq. (Supp. 1994).
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negotiates mortgage loans for others.? A "mortgage lender" is any
person who directly or indirectly makes, originates, or purchases
mortgage loans or who services mortgage loans. The Mortgage
Act's provisions extend to any mortgage lender or mortgage broker
that originates or facilitates origination of mortgage 1loans
secured by property located in Georgia, even when the lender or
broker is located cutside Georgia.4

The Mortgage Act contains licensing requirements for all
mortgage brokers and lenders unless exempted. Savings
associations, banks, building and loan associations, and credit
unions chartered under federal and state law that have offices in
Georgia are exempt from the licensing requirements under the Act.>
However, federally chartered institutions with no business location
in the State must register with (but not obtain a license from) the
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance ("DBF") if they engage in
residential mortgage lending activities in Georgia. Such
institutions must register on forms provided by the DBF and pay an
annual registration fee of between $400 and $800.

Institutions required to register under the Mortgage Act are
also required submit certain financial and other reports to the
State, to make certain disclosures when originating loans, to
comply with certain advertising restrictions and escrow
regulations, and to maintain segregated books and records to
document compliance with the Mortgage Act.8

The Mortgage Act also provides that all mortgage lenders and
brokers, including those that are exempt from the licensing and
registration requirements of the Act, must collect from borrowers
a "per loan fee" of $6.50 per mortgage loan closed in Georgia.?
These fees must be remitted to the DBF by lenders and brokers on a
semi-annual basis. When remitting these fees, lenders and brokers

2 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1000(5).
3 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1000(6).
4 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1000(7).
5 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1001(a)(1).
6 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1001(b).

7 Ga. Code Ann. § 7-1-1011 and Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. § 80-5-
1-.02(c) (1994).

8 Ga. Code Ann. §§ 7-1-1009 through 7-1-1016.

9 Ga. Code § 7-1-1011, as amended March 29, 1994 (not vet
reflected in Ga. Code Ann.).

— L] —



3

must submit a form to the DBF that contains thg name of the
institution, its license and registration number.(lf applicable),
and the number of loans closed during the reporting pericd.

Lenders and brokers that fail to co{lect the ;equired fees
become directly liable for the fees.! Yiolatlons of the
Mortgage Act may also result in criminal penalties of up to $1,000

per d%g and imprisonment of responsible employees for up to cne
year.

III. Discussion

On numerous prior occasions, the OTS and its predecessor, the
Federal Home Loan Bank Board ("FHLBB"), have opined that state laws
attempting to impose licensin? and registratiop requirements on
federal savings associationsI3 or to otherwise regulate the
rnortgage lending practices of federal savings associationsl4 are
preempted by federal law. The courts have repeatedly reached the
same conclusion. Accordingly, those portions of the Mortgage
Act that impose requirements regarding registration, licensing,
advertising, disclosure, escrow accounts, reports, maintenance of
books and records, and fees for registration and filing are
inapplicable to federal savings associations.

The provisions of the Mortgage Act requiring lenders to

collect a "per loan fee" from borrowers require separate
10 14.
1 14
12 Ga. code Ann. § 7-1-1019. 0oddly, the civil

administrative enforcement provisions of the statute (e , Cease
and desist orders and civil fines) apply only to persons required
to be "licensed" under the Mortgage Act and, thus, appear to have

no potential application to federal savings associations. Ga. Code
Ann. § 7-1-1018.

13 ors op. by williams, Nov. 20, 1992: OTS Op. Chief

Counsel, Nov. 30, 1990; OTS Op. by Katz, Jan. 9, 1990; and FHLBB
Op. General Counsel, Oct. 29, 1976.

14  FHLBB op. by oQuillian, April 28, 1987; FHLEBB op. by
Raiden, Nov. 12, 1985; and FHLBB Op. by Raiden, Aug. 13, 1985.

15 E.g. Federal Home Loan Bank Board v. Empje, 778 F.2d 1447
(10th Cir. 1985); First Federal Savings & Loan Assocjiation v.

Greenwald, 591 F.2d 417 (1st Cir.._ 1979); Wisconsin league of
Financia stitutions v. Galecki, 707 F. Supp. 401 (W.D. Wis.
1989);: and ople v. Coast Fede Savings & Lo ssociat , 98
F. Supp. 311 (S.D. Cal. 1951).
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consideration. These provisions raise the question of whether, and
under what circumstances, states may require federal savings
associations to collect and remit loan-related taxes from
borrowers. This question has not been previously addressed by OTS.

Pursuant to § 5(a) of the Home Owners' Loan -Act, the OTS is
authorized to promulgate regulations preempting state laws that
threaten the safety and soundness of savings associations or
interfere with their ability to make loans, receive deposits, and
provide other goods and services in a manner consistent with the
best practices of thrift institutions in the United States.l6
Pursuant to this authority, the OTS has promulgated comprehensive
regqulations occupying the entire field of lending regqulation.l’
However, this does not mean that every state law having any
conceivable connection to the lending operations of federal savings
associations is preempted. For example, state laws regulating the

foreclosure rights of mortgagors apply to federal savings
associations.

Thus, whenever a state law affecting the lending operations of
federal savings associations is evaluated from a preemption
perspective, the OTS lending requlations and their regulatory
history must be reviewed and a judgment made regarding whether the

state law is of a type that lending regqulations were intended to
preempt.

We have found no evidence that the OTS lending regulations
were intended to preempt state laws requiring lenders to collect
loan-related taxes from borrowers. The key is not that the
requlatory history of the lending regqulations fails to make
specific mention of state tax collection laws. The drafters of the
regulations were not required to anticipate and specifically
describe each type of state law falling within the scope of
regulatory preemption. Rather, our conclusion is based on a
judgment that state tax collection laws are different in kind from
the types of state laws intended to be preempted by the lending
regulations. The provisions of the Mortgage Act that attempt to
impose requirements regarding escrow accounts, disclosure,
advertising, books and records, registration, and lender fees are
Classic examples of the types of state laws that fall within the
scope of OTS lending regulation preemption. Each of these state
laws relates to lending practices and to the operations of savings
associations, i,e., whether and how loans are made. State laws

16 12 U.S.C.A. § 1464(a) (West Supp. 1994); Fideljty Federal
Savings and lLoan Association v. de 1la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141 (1982);

and Glendale Federal Savings and loan Associatjon v. Fox, 459 F.
Supp. 903, 909 (C.D. Cal. 1978).

17 See authorities cited above.
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requiring borrowers to pay, and lenders to collect, loan-related
taxes are different in kind. ,

Accordingly, we conclude that our regulations have not
preempted the '"per loan fee" requirements of the Mortgage Act.
Federal savings associations remain subject to these
requirements.18” This does not mean that the OTS lacks authority
to preempt state laws requiring lenders to collect loan-related
fees. If the OTS were to conclude that the collection burdens
imposed on federal savings associations by one or more states were
inimical to safety and soundness or interfered with efficient
mortgage loan ‘originations, the OTS would have authority to

promulgate a preemptive regulation. To date, however, the OTS has
not done so.

Oour conclusion that federal savings associations are subject
to the "per loan fee" collection requirements should not be
confused with questions of enforcement jurisdiction. Jurisdiction
to take enforcement action for violatipons of the Georgia law
appears to lie exclusively with the oTs.l1? Georgia should refer
violations of the Mortgage Act to the OTS for resolution. Please
contact us if you become aware of any attempts by the state to take
direct administrative enforcement action against a federal savings
association under the Mortgage Act.

The conclusions expressed herein are based on the information
contained in your submissions to us and summarized herein. Our
conclusions depend on the accuracy and completeness of that
information. Any material change in facts from those recited
herein could result in different conclusions.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

cc: John Price
All Regional Counsel
Barbara Haggerty, Central Region
Alan Faircloth, Southeast Region

18 We note that federal savings associations originating FHA
and VA loans may only collect fees authorized under 24 C.F.R. §
203.27. Although the Georgia "per loan fee" will presumably be
deemed a permissible "reasonable and customary charge" within the
meaning of this requlation, § 203.27(a)(3)(vi), federal savings
associations should take care to disclose the "per loan fee" in the
statements required by § 203.27(d), so as to confirm that the fee
is permissible under the regulation.

19 erence of Federal Savings and L Associati v,

Stein, 604 F.2d 1256 (9th cir. 1979), aff'd mem., 445 U.S. 921
(1980).
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